People’s Responses (actual and anticipated) When I Tell Them I Majored in Philosophy: A List

– laughter

– “what are you gonna do with that?” (the answer of law school usually satisfies them)

– “what type of philosophy did you study?”

– “you wanna know why my philosophy is?” (The answer to this one is always no)

– “hey, I majored in philosophy!”

– laughter…<pause>…”wait, really?”

– some story about a friend who majored in a philosophy and has done absolutely nothing with his life, and regrets it completely.

– some story about a friend who majored in philosophy and is highly successful, in a field that has absolutely nothing to do with Philosophy.

– “I’m not surprised, because I find philosophy majors incredibly attractive. My name’s Ginger, by the way.”

– “A philosophy major killed my father, you bastard.”

– “I took a philosophy class once in college. It was really hard.”

– “Don’t you find that Kierkegaard’s use of a Christian voice, vis a vis, Johannes de Silentio, is intended to illustrate ideas that are not essentially Christian, such as the leap of the absurd, demonstrated using faith as an example?” (answer: yes)

– “Well isn’t that nice? Here’s 5 dollars.”

– “Well isn’t that nice? Here’s 50 dollars.”

– “I can see you’re putting that to good use.” (usually said while I’m at work…at the park)

– “So you’re going to graduate school, right?”

– “Philosophy’s AWESOME!”

-“You’re hired!”

~ by aeqvitas on July 16, 2008.

3 Responses to “People’s Responses (actual and anticipated) When I Tell Them I Majored in Philosophy: A List”

  1. Hmmmm…interesting post. I’m fairly certain, however, that girls named Ginger only try to date English majors. Although, I could be mistaken….

  2. English majors are never mistaken.

    Love,
    The English major/Philosophy minor

  3. Only Girls named Ginger who work at Ruby Tuesdays, and are familiar with the natural habitat of southern Bison try to date English Majors.

    And I was aaaalmost an English minor…if it hadn’t had been for stupid American Lit killing whatever desire I had there.

Leave a comment